Disabling projects

Not every team manages their work on GitHub in the same way. Now you can disable repository and organization-wide Projects if you’re not using them.

Disable GitHub Projects

Users with admin privileges on a repository can disable Projects by navigating to that repository’s settings and unchecking the “Projects” box. Similarly, organization owners can disable Projects by navigating to an organization’s settings and clicking “Projects” in the sidebar. On this page, unchecking the “Enable Projects for the organization” box will disable organization-wide Projects, and unchecking the “Enable Projects for all repositories” box will disable Projects for all repositories in the organization.

Disabling Projects hides the Projects tab from the repository and organization navigation, removes Projects from Issue and Pull Request sidebars, and hides Project-related events from Issue timelines. Disabled Projects are also inaccessible via API requests.

Projects can be re-enabled at any time, at which point all previously-disabled projects will be restored exactly as you left them.

Check out the help documentation and the Projects API page to learn more.

Have feedback on this post? Let @github know on Twitter.
Need help or found a bug? Contact us.

Changelog

Subscribe

GitHub Universe logo

GitHub Universe

October 16-17 in San Francisco
Get tickets today

Discover new ways to build better

Try Marketplace apps free for 14 days

Learn more