Anonymous timeline entries for moderation events

Project maintainers shouldn’t have to risk their personal safety in order to build a strong community around their code. While various moderation actions already create timeline entries on the relevant issue or pull request, deleted comments and locked conversation timeline entries are now anonymous to non-collaborators.

When a project maintainer deletes a comment or locks a conversation in an organization-owned repository, users with write access to the repository will continue to see the moderator’s identity, while those without write access will simply see the organization’s name as the actor. For more information, see the “Deleting a comment” and “Locking a conversation” articles.

Have feedback on this post? Let @github know on Twitter.
Need help or found a bug? Contact us.

Changelog

Subscribe

GitHub Universe logo

GitHub Universe

October 16-17 in San Francisco
Get tickets today

Discover new ways to build better

Try Marketplace apps free for 14 days

Learn more